Shortbow

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I wonder if they sell or, if it would be possible to make, hard lines that would connect to a bike hydraulic brake system. Even just an angled fitting attached to the caliper would completely change the hose routing. Something like a v-brake noodle.

Might be doable if you found the right diameter tubing. You could use one of these splices to connect to the flexible line.

TRP-hydraulic-brake-coupler+%282%29.JPG

https://www.ticycles.com/store-all/hydraulic-brake-line-coupler

You should be able to bend that hose quite a bit though.

I have no experience with bicycle disc brakes so I'm wondering if the fittings are compatible with automotive fittings. If they are, then it would be possible to clean up the routing by bending a small loop to enter the frame at either the chain stays or seat stays. There are lots of options with either hard lines or flexible lines and also angled fittings.

Might be doable if you found the right diameter tubing. You could use one of these splices to connect to the flexible line.

TRP-hydraulic-brake-coupler+%282%29.JPG

https://www.ticycles.com/store-all/hydraulic-brake-line-coupler

You should be able to bend that hose quite a bit though.

Thanks. They sure have some beautiful photos of pretty cool hardware at that site. That splice comes closer to what I was hoping to find than anything I've been able to dig up! At one point I had my hopes pinned on swapping out the caliper end from a straight to a banjo fitting. That would give me a 90° turn but, from what I can tell the bolt sizes and thread pitch are different.