Antiquing, bare metal and preserving rust.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A few questions bundled together here.

First off, I want to antique a bike I recently bought. I have a brownish primer that I think will look very good, so my question is, can I just use the primer and nothing more? How will that hold up?`Can/should I clearcoat over it?

On a different bike I'd like to strip it completely and keep that color. Should I just clearcoat the bare metal, or leave it without any treatment?

Third, if I let a frame rust controlled, what is the best way to stop the rust and preserve it the way it is? I've heard boiled linseed oil alot, but I don't want rust to rub off on clothing etc. Dry it out, brush it, and clearcoat?

I am not very experienced with paints and treatments, so any and all input here is very welcome!

Primer only is OK, but I undestand it is porus so it lets moisture thru and allows the metal to rust.
index.php

I have had really good results with boiled linseed oil rubbed on with a rag. It is tacky for a few days, but if you leave it out in the sun it bakes on and dries...