LED conversion advice

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
63   0   0
I have a dual headlight set up I'd like to upgrade for my wife's Murray. I'd like to change the standard lights out to LED. I've never done this before, so I'm looking for tutorial help. A couple questions I have to start out:

What parts will I need?
Can I use my usual methods for cleaning the rust off the original case?
What batteries will it require?

Here's the internals.

PZgxTT.jpg

You can get E10 style LED's inexpensively, but using small flashlights is also cheap. And all the wiring and stuff is there.

The only thing I'm not sure of is if the Murray tank switch can still be used.

You should be able to clean the rust up with a wire wheel on a Dremel, but not sure how reflective it would be.

IndianaDave is right--they do make LED "bulbs" that are a direct swap for old flashlights. I'm not so sure you can get them with the screw-in base, but the smooth ones found in most flashlights share the same electrical properties. All wiring and batteries remain as they were, and the new light will be brighter and last longer...but it wouldn't be as bright as something you custom-made.

Addendum: Here's an eBay seller that has the proper item for two bucks a pair.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/E10-Lamp-LE...47-Screw-for-Torch-bike-bicycle-/152451991507

Last edited:
The bulbs' mechanical interface is E10 (miniature screw), as was stated. Your light fixture has (2) "D" cells for 3 volts - basically a pen light. If decoration is your intent, then two LED replacement bulbs rated at or above 3 volts would be okay. I have seen those offered in two levels of brightness/wattage, 1W & 5W.
I recommend the brightest, 5W, less of a pen light.