Rat Trike

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hey all after perusing the forum and looking at many of your awesome builds I thought I would add my build to the list of bikes out there. I found this Montgomery Wards Dept store trike for free in a neighbors yard, she was not doing anything with it and after driving by it one day I stopped and inquired about the status of it. She told me to "Take it and do some good with it" since I live a few blocks away I had my friend drive my car home and I walked the bike to my garage.

Now I am not a total newb, I have built a few bikes before but not a trike. This trike is weird the frame is not a typical bike frame and looks to be made specifically for this trike axle. it's a step thru I am not sure what I am going to do about that, maybe weld in some top bars and gussets. I already tore it all apart and inventoried the parts and then got some straight 26" springer forks for it and some Nirve black ape hangers, I got a bunch of wald parts too form several other Dept store bikes that were laying around a friends yard ( he has a pile of bikes from Bmx to Mountain to Road bikes all rusted and stuck together at odd angles but it's mostly junk)

After digging around in his pile for a few hours I decided to take some longer cranks, the bb and headset from a Bmx bike that were already flat black as well as a triple tree shock fork from a mountain bike that I have plans on stretching into a chopper fork. Here is a picture of the mock up after installing the springer and ape hangers.

trike+mock+up.jpg

My plan is to build this with as little cash money as possible and still make a cool looking and great riding bike, I am converting it from 24" to 26" with 72 spoke wheels. any thoughts or suggestions are welcome.