Skip-Tooth Chain Timeline

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As I've stated in so many other posts, I'm new to all this stuff. I think I have made the realization that there is no real rhyme or reason as to when Skip Tooth chan use saw it's end. Is it safe to say that manufacturers built bikes with EITHER type of chain configuration over a period of years? That is, "So-And-So Bike Co." did/did not stop using skip tooth hardware on this particular date? I'm beginning to assume that drive-train parts were used up until inventory was gone, all the while 1/2 inch stuff was being put out there at the same time, by the same builder, in the same production year. Is that a safe statement?

the oldest 1/2" pitch chainring I've seen was just after the turn of the century, so who knows why they went with skip tooth for another 40+ years.. I think it probably started with one manufacturer moving too the better technology and the others following suit to be competitive, just like change in any other industry . when that actually happened?? :roll:

JuggyWuggy said:
This reminds me, Ive finally seen a skiptooth in person at the Los Angeles Museum of Natural History. Next to it was a bike kit. pretty cool stuff.

That's funny. My first vintage bike is a women's 1955 Columbia Built (hence my username) that my wife rides. I set out to find a men's bike for myself, and lo and behold, when I found it, a Rollfast, it was a skiptooth. Dating my Rollfast prompted this forum thread.

my 1957 murray fleetline was still manufatured with a skip tooth driveline,even though most bike makers had switched to the standard 1/2" drive by then! :shock:
DSCN2022-1.jpg