'The' Purple Nurple!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy folks!!
New member here, new to the muscle bike-ratrod-cruiser scene however I've been building track, single speed, and BMX bicycles since around 2009. First a little 'history' about myself, along with bicycles, I've been building '60s - '70s cars and motorcycles since high school... a little over 15 years. I'm a machinist located in Tucson, Az and help operate a machine shop with my father. About a month ago I picked up my first Stingray. I've wanted one for quite some time, but have had a hard time finding one locally until now. Out of over a couple dozen builds this lil Schwinn has by far been the most fun out of all! It's a constant work in process and the combination of this build plus finding this forum has me excited to start fabricating everything from frames to parts. Onto the Stingray:

How I bought it for $30 off craigslist:

About a week later:

I purchased a low budget headlight / tail light / friction generator off of eBay. It came with zero instructions, no wiring and crap brackets. So I fab'd this bracket for the front headlight:

I kinda liked the bullet headlight for the front, but the tiny little tail light that came in the kit was ehhhhh. I had a 1930's blue dot tail light off of an old Harley chopper build and thought it would work perfectly. I'm kinda disappointed in the brightness of the generator lights, gonna try to find some LED replacement bulbs for more light. Custom engraved 'license' plate I made for it as well:

I did a little custom engraving and added some heat color with a MAP gas torch on the headlight bracket, and filled the engraving with some pink: