Winter Worksman Klunker Project

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me preface this build by saying up front when it comes to klunkers, and Worksman bikes, I have no idea what I'm doing. I have built a bunch of bikes and other weird stuff in the past but I have never built a proper rat rod bike before so this is going to be my first venture into building something like this.

Recently I started looking into the idea of building a klunker after picking up a couple of old canti beach cruisers of indeterminate vintage that someone was throwing away. One I wanted to keep as an original as possible beach cruiser, and the other I was thinking about making into a klunker. Which honestly until very recently I had no idea what a klunker was. I had only heard the term mentioned in passing, but I had never really looked into what they were. So I started researching exactly what constitutes a proper klunker. What I found was extremely interesting, and while they predate my cycling age, I've grown up mountain biking and I love the idea of building something that was the precursor to the modern purpose built mountain bike.

IMG_20171120_161353-01.jpeg

Originally I had planned on making one of those cruisers into a klunker but then while chasing down someone selling a bunch of old three speed wheels for dirt cheap, I discovered that he also had a bunch of other cool random bike stuff laying around. Long story short he made me an offer I couldn't refuse on an old Worksman frame and a new plan solidified in my mind.