Lakes Roadster

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, this is my first try at a ratrod bike so go easy on me :)

Okay so I thought I'd give it a go, had a quick nose around the garage, sheds and behind the summer house to find some bits and have come up with this;
70's triumph 27" road racer frame and forks,
70's long quill drop stem,
80's alloy roadster bars,
pair custom cranks and ring,
pair of bear traps,
pair of 26"x3/4" swamy(spelling?) wheels,
pair 11/2" slicks,
60's brooks saddle,

And an idea of where I want to go, the pic that set it off,

0802sr_14_z+veda_orrs_1932_ford_roadster+.jpg

What I've got so far,

DSCF2325.jpg

DSCF2326.jpg

DSCF2327.jpg

The plan;

Add another top tube at a slight rake, fit an infill plate, add a new rear brake tube under the rear triangle to get the brake somewhere near the new rim, put a brake lever on the down tube with a 34 ford brake pedal pad fitted to have a foot brake, build a pair of fake springers for the forks, maybe with a leaf spring ala Indians, recover the seat in canvas and paint to match the ORR Roadster.

Simples, so far I have about 2 hours in the build and not a penny spent :lol: It won't be a quick build because I have a couple of 20's-30's roadster bikes to rebuild and the HotRod to be getting no with, but on the slow minutes I'll try and crack on.

Let me know what you think!

Chaley.

should be cool cant wait til its finnished...i really want to see how the foot brake will pan out!!!!

cool frame to start with... and great inspiration... I really like the lines of the frame, it reminds me of the very early track bikes for some reason.

I'm getting feed up with my camera!!