Powdercoat

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to building bikes and i am in the process of building a Hiawatha i got at an action for $2. I was wondering if anybody has powdercoated the frame or forks and had any luck with it. i will try to post pictures when i have a chance.

Thats funny you say that Markm. My experiance is that Powder Coat just kind of sucks... Can come out dull looking, rubs off easily from cable housing. I would get it clear coated after powdercoating, if you can.

I've had good luck with powder coat. Never had anything professionally painted though so I can't compare. It think it beats the rattle can. Best part is where I have it done they do all the prep work like blasting the frame.

Here's just a couple of the bikes I've had powder coated...
jd_mower4.jpg

cc1.jpg

i have never seen a bad powder coat yet. i suppose its has to do with how it's preped as anything else. i have never had any powercoating done but alot of people i ride harleys with have and they are fine. just ask ? on who you want this done by and research the internet as to what is expected.

Outlaw :mrgreen:

i dig powdercoating, i just take f&f and whatever else to my local powdercoaters and he media blasts it and sprays it the color i want. its alot less time consuming.

I love powdercoating, I do all my frames this way for the past few years. And a bunch of forks, chainguards, handlebars etc etc.
So much tougher than paint - doesn't chip like paint.
It absolutely depends on who is applying it...too thick no good...to thin no good.

Curtis