Western Flipside

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first build. The bike is an old Western Flyer road bike. I purchased it last fall from a local bike shop that specializes in used bikes, Tsunami cycles on South Congress in Austin. It looked like someone's beater commuter that had seen lots of miles.

The sticker on it says "10 speed", but someone converted it to a 12 speed and put 26" rims on it. Also, the stem is bent to the left from a crash last winter. If anyone knows a bit about the history of these old Western Flyer road bikes please share a bit with us.

I'm intending on setting it up with a single chainring on the front, a coaster brake hub on the rear, and some elements of steampunk style. I'm undecided about which wheel size I'll go with.

IMG_0783.jpg

sounds a lot like my bike, except it started as a 26" mtb... I put 28s on mine, plus coasterbrake, and the result is visually dramatic. In a good way. It seems that your frame is rather small for a full size roadie. Maybe it used to be a 26" road bike... These 26" wheels don't look out of place at all, sizewise, and the brakes look like they belong.
Can't wait to see how far you will take the steampunk-idea. I love it, but have to come across a good bicycle example.

Good luck with the build and have fun!

Thanks for the input Rudolf. I think that I'll stick with 26" rims.

Here's some more "before" pics. I'm waiting on parts, and I'm still using this bike to get around South Austin.

IMG_0788.jpg

IMG_0785.jpg

Bent stem.
IMG_0791.jpg

All decals must go.