The Schwinn Dixie Dreamcycle

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Do you have any big plastic bags you could seal the parts in along with something to use as a desiccant to keep the humidity down in the bags?
Well, I do have access to some big trash bags that I should be able to fit the parts in, but as for that other bit, I don't know. I've never tried that before. I'm just worried that it wouldn't make much of a difference, given Oklahoma's high summer humidity and heat. Plus, I have no idea how quickly Dad can get his powder coating booth operational again. He could have the problem solved in a couple hours, or a couple weeks. I don't know.

Worst case scenario, you could build it raw or even coat it in BLO just for BO16. Then when the powder is available clean off the BLO and do a light sanding of the flash rush and get the powder coat done after BO16. Not ideal, but a possibility if it looks like the powder is screwed.

Worst case scenario, you could build it raw or even coat it in BLO just for BO16. Then when the powder is available clean off the BLO and do a light sanding of the flash rush and get the powder coat done after BO16. Not ideal, but a possibility if it looks like the powder is screwed.
I had briefly thought about wire brushing everything and spraying it with satin clear coat like last year's Build Off bike. In fact, that was actually my original intent for this bike. That said, I really don't want another bare metal bike when I've already got one, and I'd rather just wait until I can finish the bike the way I want instead of rushing it just to get it done for the Build Off voting period.

Okay, Dad fixed the air lines running to the powder coating booth, so I'm going to try to get this bike done within the next 3 days. Wish me luck!
EG6r7Oc.gif