Virtue Ortho

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I found a neglected Virtue Bikes "Ortho" yesterday for a good price. I have read a couple threads here by kingfish254 and MazdaFlyer about their builds on this model and might have questions. I have ordered a new shifter assembly, brake pads and will replace all cables. I also ordered the original Velo leatherette grips. The original seat was trashed and the one on it now looks similar but not the same, might mess around with something lay back like MazdaFlyer did. I am also considering fenders and a retro looking headlamp. I am a capable mechanic but haven't done a lot with bikes since I was a kid so learning about the newer things out there and what fits what.
ortho.jpg
20211014_082023.jpg
20211014_082031.jpg

They are well made funky bikes. I've flipped a couple of them now.
Welcome to RRB. Have fun with the Ortho.

You can ride with a straight back, hence the name "Ortho". Plus it feels like 1890 when you're riding it.
Thanks. I looked it up (like I should have done in the first place)! :wink1:
Interesting company with cool retro (conventional) designs. Prices seem reasonable.
I assume they're Chinesium-made?

I have to admit the ortho isn't aesthetically pleasing to my eye, but proof is in the puddin'. I'd have to ride it!

No it definitely doesn't have the cruiser look that I love. I don't know where the frames are made but for the price I doubt they are made in the US, they probably get them made overseas and maybe they assemble them in San Diego?