STRETCH CRUISER ADVICE NEEDED!!!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Renaissance Man

__CERTIFIED DIVER__ (Open Water & Open Dumpster)
Staff member
Pro Member
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
26   0   0
I'm looking for any and all advice about stretch cruisers.

I've been exploring the idea of scratch building one this winter but I have no prior experience with this style bike. If you have ever owned one, built one or even ridden someone else's stretch cruiser, I'm interested in what you have to say about it!

Here's a great example of what I'm referring to (built by @Smoopy's ):
Tang-1.jpg

Here are some basic questions to get the discussion going:

What's the best rake for a comfortable ride?
Generally, how long is the wheel base?
Any overall geometry tips?
What affordable wheel sets and tires do you have good experience with?
How wide should the rear stays be for wide tires and wheels?
Etc. etc.

Thank you in advance!

That's about where I'm at too RM.
I've built the burrito - ish Harlequin and as far as ride, I wanted my pedals not to scrape and my toes not to hit the front wheel. So on my build I went with the layout of almost a recumbent. I got my measurements sitting on a regular cruiser and guestimating with a tape measure where I wanted my feet to end up and where my seat needed to be so I could reach to steer. I had some adjustment on my seat, so it worked out ok. But I'm almost ready to make the jump to a scratch built frame too. I just need to ready my new shop. So I'll be watching this thread also.

Carl.

These bikes have been around long enough that there's no need to have to guess at the geometry. I'm hoping that someone will chime in that has a very comfortable riding bike and offer some real world insights.

I’m definitely subscribing to this discussion.