Recent content by AndyA

1. AndyA

First Build Advice

LAGreg: Here's the thing: $20 for the bike is a good start, but you probably don't want to pay what media blasting would cost to save a pair of Huffy rims. If the rims aren't rusted through, I would soak the nipples with your choice of rust killer and see if they'll loosen up. If they do, great...
  2. AndyA

Has anyone made a trike out of a Sears Flightliner/Spaceliner bike?

Aahh, an experiment with no risk. That's logical. However, where would we be today if scientists took no risks? Just ask Victor Frankenstein or Henry Jekyll.
  3. AndyA

Has anyone made a trike out of a Sears Flightliner/Spaceliner bike?

I have no personal experience, but I have to think that whatever mechanical magic is used to create a trike is applicable to that frame. I note that you plan to use oxalic acid followed by abrasive blasting. I can't think of any advantage to the oxalic acid in this case. Just blast it! Have fun!
  4. AndyA

New acquisition: Sun Retro 24-inch

A new chain arrived yesterday so there was a test flight this morning. Forgot to tighten one of the brake pads but didn't end up under a truck. The newly free-wheeling hub is nice 'cause you don't need to hassle with the coaster brake every time you stop. The downside of the 26-inch fork is that...
  5. AndyA

Explanation needed

I've been thinkin' about getting a flux capacitor.
  6. AndyA

Explanation needed

Alternative remedial measures: Install a net to catch cyclists who can't stop in time Remove a portion of the guard rail Construct a bicycle bridge over the guard rail Paint over the bike lane Install ramps so that cyclists can jump the guard rail I'm an engineer and this sort of thing can...
  7. AndyA

Grandson found the scooter down the basement. His dad rode a similar scooter in lime green in the 80's.
  8. AndyA

Cap'n: You're not supposed to be looking at the background!
  9. AndyA

"Caliper" brakes, not "caliber" brakes. Stupid auto-correct!
  10. AndyA