Pope Roger bike build

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Thanks guys!

Here a little update on the crossframe bike:

I tacked the CroMoly together and am working on the chainstay right now.
Bought a "Salt Rookie" 175mm crankset which is servicable with normaal tools :thumbsup:

The tacking is a bit tacky :crazy: I am not a professional welder. I will let the finishing welds be done by a professional welder.
The measurements and alignment is very good!!

9Z4shaB.jpeg

lBRCnrC.jpeg

L88x9za.jpeg

Not perfect... but it stays there!

LKUvwi3.jpeg

Lqs5t5I.jpeg

lKwgE3m.jpeg

29+ or 29x3.0 tires (Probably Surly Knards) with 68mm bottom bracket is a bit of a challenge to fit. So I made a quick 'n dirty 3D model with 550mm chainstays (this is a large bike!) and 80mm's wide tires.

bGRFTLB.jpeg

aCWwVym.jpeg

The green plate is a 5 or 6mm steel plate that will be connected to 20mm CroMoly tubes.
Again, a quick and dirty test model, rounds and plate bending to be added.

So 2x 20mm tubes between the bottom bracket shell and this plate.
And 20mm chainstay tubes to the dropout.

Dropout wise I am thinking about inspiration from a real nice one that I saw: Speedholes :crazy2:
timmermans-fietsen-scrambler-5.jpg

Last edited:
Hi RRB forum,

I have been very busy for some time now, so no updates or posts on the forum.
The hub design is almost finished and I will leave it to rest for now.

I am working on the crossframe bike rear bridge/fork at this point, I will post some pictures soon.

The Salt crankset I bought for the bike.... I used it to rebuild my Felt Sector 2004 BMX bike:
CIEWCnh.jpg

I started racing BMX again.

And I am about to order some stuff for the crossframe bike:
  • 29 inch Dartmoor Cruiser rims. They are tough and 40mm's wide.
  • Novatec front hub 15x110 boost or a Hope Pro4 purple hub with six bolt disc brake.