1970s Raleigh 3 speed "Pub Hopper"

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My brother picked this up after we spotted it on CL with another almost just like it for $40. The other bike is complete but in a few pieces and has a lot more rust.

This one came with the handle bars off and a modern road bike style neck on it. I removed that and put on a BMX style stem with handle bars. It was pretty stiff do to rust from setting out side but I have been working with it and seem to have loosened things up. Right now I am trying to adjust the 3 speed shifter and hub. It will shift into 3 but will shift into 1 or 2 only when it feels like it. I am still learning how to adjust the Sturmey Archer 3 speed so I hope I can work the bugs out.

Here is how is sits right now. Installed one new tire up front and have one for the back to but I am waiting on new rim strips to come in. I and currently trying to get some of the rust of the chrome parts. This thing is a blast to right and I plan to take a ride down to the local "pub" here in town to take a few pics.

PubHopper1.jpg

PubHopper2.jpg

PubHopper3.jpg

PubHopper4.jpg

PubHopper5.jpg

PubHopper.jpg

Use light oil on the rear hub, I use 30 weight motor oil. Along with the oil port on the hub, I add some inside the axle after pulling the shift chain out. The has helped free up the shifting on older hubs I've had. A good lube of the whole shift cable and shifter can help it shift better.

I looked closer and noticed the shift cable is mounted wrong. The little wheel on the seat tube needs to be almost to the top, so the cable won't catch on anything, The cable should follow the frame. You'll have to loosen the mount on the top tube and move it toward the rear to get the proper adjustment of the cable.