'48 Murray built Higgins

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1016_368460756564094_766677114_n_zps8e6eb744.jpg
[/URL]

This is going to be my first "old bike" rebuild.

About me: Well I worked as a bike mechanic for years so know how to pull apart and rebuild bikes, though single speed, rigid mountain bikes are my regular rides.

I found the Higgins on Craigslist (sold as a Schwinn) and it's a mix of late 40's / early 50's CWC and Schwinn parts hanging on a '48 J.C. Higgins that was built by Murray of Ohio.

Yesterday I got it 90% pulled apart and sanded back some of the purple paint to see if any original was left. Unfortunately it looks like it is all gone, under the purple there is primer and then bare metal. I'll take pictures of how it sits now and update, it was still hovering around freezing yesterday and my garage is unheated and once I was done with the tear down and had gone in the house for a beer wasn't going back outside !!

The plan is to stay pretty mild with this, actually what I have in mind is almost the same as terry66's bike on the build-off t-shirt. Frame and fork legs will be flat black, rims red and white wall tires, nothing crazy :mrgreen:

Id thought about entering RRBBO#8 but with a full time job, a wife in evening school, 2 young kids and temperatures that are staying stubbornly subzero I will be taking my time.

Photo's will be posted asap.

Cheers for now

DB

Finally got a chance to do some more work on it today, no cold weather (or kids birthdays) to get in the way.

Frame is stripped:

IMG_3741_zpsef312108.jpg
[/URL]

Getting to work with a mixture of paint stripper and wet sanding:

IMG_3742_zps4805937a.jpg
[/URL]

A table full of parts:
IMG_3738_zpsc57efc12.jpg

Amazingly the tires still had the original inner tubes in them !!

Frame is cleaning up nicely: