Compax Traveler

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to Rat Rod Bikes and old bicycles and was encouraged by a guy I work with to enter the build off. He picked up this frame for me at a swap meet in Tennessee. My first effort will be a Westfield Columbia Compax folding bicycle. I'm in the process of stripping the paint and repairing a few minor battle scars. I'm hoping to find original handle bars and seat to go along with the build. This cool bike will be finished off with black paint and a few rusty spots giving it an aged look.
IMG_0485_zps6nge3eo5.jpg

Cool. I've be pondering doing up and old Dahon folding bike that I never ride. You just might give me the motivation to do it. Good luck.

Welcome to RRB and the Build Off
Those older folders are cool
Have fun

Welcome and a nice start!

I've got a Sears breakdown bike ( not really a folder) waiting in the wings....

Progress is slow so far. I had to repair the frame where apparently something was rubbing against it. My amateur brazing skills worked out for the most part. There are a couple of wormholes and a small portion of the crack still visible. The forks were bent and needed straightening. fortunately, no other brazing was required. Hopefully work can progress a little more steady.
Not much to show so far. I have the paint stripped off and some minor cleaning is needed.
IMG_0561_zpsj6udiezm.jpg

IMG_0560_zpsvqhbez5j.jpg

IMG_0562-1_zpszgx8bmsj.jpg

IMG_0565-1_zpsppcybf0l.jpg

Welcome to the jungle!! Now get ta building. Peace

Yes, the crack has to be filled. It would bug me too bad if I didn't. No luck on the handle bars or the chain guard.