Gotavan

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello. I started riding bicyles when I was just a kid in kindergarten 1956, I still have that bike somewhere, girls 20" Hiawatha. I collect a lot of things, bikes tractors cars vans motorcycles, its my parents fault both are packrats.So I guess I'm the firstborn rat, I have 5 younger sisters. I rode bikes until I was 14 then I started on motorcycles, Rode a Harley to high school and got my first good job working at Honda Bobs, yeah I rode a hog and worked on the rice burners. In 1970 I bought a wrecked van for 50 bucks and just about lived in it. I wanted more power so I started using the chevy vans. I was still collecting old bikes all the time and when I bought an old farm I started hoarding every junk bike I could. The old barn was filled to the roof with a tangled pile of broken bicycles. I had an obsession with the bicycles and started riding every day year round. Did some bike tours and races, really enjoy the bike marathons this year is my 15th 24 hour challenge my best was 247 miles. For the last 32 years I have been a tool & die maker , I have 3 children and 3 grandkids. My grandson wants a chopper, and he has to help build it. I have been working a lot of overtime last few weeks so I have been neglecting my RRBO bike. still reading this? I ll put in a couple pics...
goinghome.jpg

self piloting one of my vans home from the NATS , there was a picture of my ratty van in truckin magazine.Ya its that rusty!
vanline.jpg

some of my vans, this was at my old place the bicycle barn in back I had to move so i gave away over 200 bicycles. I went on a van buying binge and now have 14 gm vans 3 ford vans and 1 dodge a-100 pickup.
parade.jpg

I built this chopper last summer, and it causes a stir when ever I ride it.
hoist.jpg