BO15 oHIo LOWrider

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,
I just found this site as I searched for more about scratch building bikes and thought I would share the one I built over the summer.
This is my first build, and it was difficult but, there are so many cool ideas on this site, it is going to be hard to stop with building just one...

So the story goes my son and I were looking at bikes online and saw some lowriders that he thought were pretty cool. Since I have some interest in building stuff, I figured I could crank out one from an old mountain bike my neighbor gave me and some other cobbled together stuff. Should take ohhhh "about 2 weeks". Well about 3 months later and a whole bunch of $$, I made a bike.

I wish I had taken more pictures along the way but I didn't think I would be posting about it.

Anyway, I started with an old but complete steel mountain bike from my neighbor (free!). I managed to grab this picture after I had hacked the back triangle off:
IMG_3371.JPG

That was also about the time I build this wood "buck" to see if I could fit my son on such a stretched bike:
IMG_3466.JPG

I then layed out the whole thing on some cardboard to get an idea (at this point, I still have no idea what I have gotten myself into).
Surely it would be as simple as laying it out on some cardboard, cutting some tube and smashing it all together - right?
I got all antsy because I didn't want to use just straight tubing. So let's try bending some stuff. Well the tube filled with sand bent over a form was a failure (and I second degree burn for my son).
IMG_3373.JPG

IMG_3435.JPG

Boom! More tubing ($) and a tubing roller ($) and some 1-1/4 dies ($) and I was up and rolling (sorry - pun):
IMG_3444.JPG

IMG_3449.JPG