Pimp my 'Slater'

Jul 25, 2019
0.JPG
2.JPG
3.JPG
4.JPG
5.JPG
6.JPG
Newbie here! I bought a Felt Slater on ebay a while back and had issues with the headset, shifting and dings on the frame. After I became a new member I saw that there will be a 'build off' ending in Sept so I aimed to participate in that. I have a pretty crazy work schedule and to make matters worse, I got sick and hospitalized during the last few weeks. However, the build I had in mind was fairly simple and I had most parts. As I got back home yesterday, I will try to post and load this build in the last few hours of the deadline. The first few pics show the original condition I started with before i get into the build.

Last edited:
Reactions: RustyGold
Jul 25, 2019
12-1.JPG
I tried to remove the anodized color on the rim by myself on the balcony. That didn't work at all. I ended up having to remove the entire coat with sand paper and then polish the rims as well.

Last edited:
Jul 25, 2019
I powder coated the 3 speed shimano hub black but kept the original spokes to re-built the wheels with OG parts.

Last edited:
Jul 25, 2019
In the front, I used the same springer fork that the bike came with. I just upgraded the flimsy headset and re-installed the fork.

Last edited:
Jul 25, 2019
16.JPG

I upgraded the bottom bracket. To match the polished frame, I polished the outside of the bottom bracket adaptors.

17.JPG

The upgraded crank arms were purchased as 'polished' but in direct comparison, only the actual polished arms would match the frame.

21.JPG
Then I saw one of those skull stems and they matched the style and size of the OEM stuff so I polished a skull and installed it.

Last edited:
Jul 25, 2019
24.JPG
25.JPG
The only things I couldn't polish were the chain guard and the kick stand. Both were steel and had to be chromed. The kickstand was difficult to chrome as the spring could not be removed. Here is how it came out first. That has since been fixed by having to chrome it again.