Red Velvet by Hellcat Cycles

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first build off. I'm finally in a spot with the facilities to do this properly. The frame i'll be using I bought in '05 for $100 and thought it would be a great venue for treating her to being built up. The frame is a 1945 Monark Super Deluxe with a Rolfast springer fork. Black drop center rims will be laced around "Blackout" New Departure hubs. The full slick tyres will make it roll fast and power a rear dynamo that will light the front and rear bulbs. Low lines and maybe a bit of leather. Should be a gas....

Blackout hubs have been sitting around waiting for the right bike....

Last edited:
Cool... another Kiwi on board. Looks like a great collection of parts to start with.

I'm curious, did you import the frame and parts or find them in NZ? I haven't seen many old bikes like that around myself, but you seem to have quite a collection going by the frames hanging in the background of the second photo... perhaps I'm not looking hard enough.

Alexandra is one of the most beautiful parts of the country, but it must be getting cold down there now. I'm at the top of the N.I. and it's quite nippy up here even.

You might like to add your location marker to the Build Off Ten Builders Map. Here is the Participant Location Map thread...

http://www.ratrodbikes.com/forum/index.php?threads/build-off-ten-participant-location-map.91992/

Enjoy the build off.

Glen.

Cool... another Kiwi on board. Looks like a great collection of parts to start with.

I'm curious, did you import the frame and parts or find them in NZ? I haven't seen many old bikes like that around myself, but you seem to have quite a collection going by the frames hanging in the background of the second photo... perhaps I'm not looking hard enough.