The Hawkliner

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi, all. I'm not new to the forum but this is my first build off bike of any sort. I'm excited and my expectations are solidly in check. I have a collection of several hundred bikes and normally I like for my bikes to look their age but ride like new. I like to rehab bikes everyone else has given up on and I have never sold one of my rehabs, something I should probably start doing someday. I don't normally go for full on restorations or new paint custom builds so this will be something new and fun. Worrying about scratching paint on my builds is NOT something I'm used to.

As for the bike, basically I'm going to do a solid black build upon a Sears Spaceliner frame that I bought at Portland last fall for $20. There will be no chrome showing of any sort - no other colors, either - just black on the entire bike. I don't expect this build to be groundbreaking but I do have a few neat twists to add, including a few rare-ish non-Spaceliner parts and pieces, but the bulk of the bike will be straight-up Spaceliner as much as possible.

I am unsure on a few details but I'll figure them out as I go. I have a friend doing the powder-coating on about a dozen parts in the next several weeks and I intend to start working on wheels and several small things prior to receiving those parts back. I'll post some raw images soon.

Thanks for the great contest and good luck to everyone involved!