Tumbleweed

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Not the wildest thing ever built by any means but i just wanted something clean. Bear in mind this is my first build ever so if i get one vote that isn't my own i'll be happy :lol: . HUGE thanks to karfer for the pin striping, it makes this build. And thanks to mike at Vintage Bike Supply for having great parts at affordable prices and to everyone i've stolen ideas from. Put on some ZZ Top (because that's what i heard when i had the dream that inspired this build http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vppbdf-qtGU&feature=related) and take a gander at my 50's hotrod/bobber influenced build, "Tumbleweed".

From humble beginnings as a 1952 Schwinn straight bar.

IMG_4826 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

To this:

IMG_4924 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4918 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4934 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4931 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4933 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4919 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4920 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4921 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4930 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4928 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

Just a few for the rust fiends.

IMG_4925 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

IMG_4927 by sabbparrish, on Flickr

I figure some rust and an old gas pump in the back ground can't hurt my chances of winning. It's been fun!

Frame: 1952 Schwinn
Fork: Reproduction springer with a flipped headset bracket and shortened spring and bolt.
Wheels: Perry B100 rear, New Departure front
Tires: 26x2.125 Duro cream bricks
Cranks: Tioga 175mm (i know, long for a raked ride) with a reproduction sweetheart chain wheel
Pedals: Magna reproduction
Lights: Custom LED front and rear
Seat: Origin8

Re: *Tumbleweed*

Great job!! I like the black/brown/white combo, plus the copper struts match the brown very well in the right lighting!Nice touch.