You can call me greedy

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all... Single white male here looking for that special bike to spend the rest of my life with. Must like rides by the beach and early morning rips to work. But seriously... 32 years old Canadian here, carpenter by trade, life long bike enthusiast and newly discovered bike builder.

I've ridden bikes all my life, always owned one, always ridden... but until just a year ago never knew how to fix or build one. The whole thing started when my bike was stolen, I didn't have much cash to spend on a new one so I needed one on the cheapskate. Luckily a friend from work had a couple of bikes that belonged to his parents kicking around in his garage. Both were Nishiki road bikes, one a woman's frame and the other a men's. The deal was I could have the men's if I fixed up the woman's for his g/f. Now I had never so much as changed an inner tube before but I needed a bike so I dove in head first. I found a not for profit DIY bicycle collective near my house http://bikepirates.com/ , this place is great, dirt cheap parts, specialty tools and friendly volunteers with lots of know how. So with new found confidence I broke her bike down, cleaned it, repacked the BB and headset, new grips, new cables/housing ect.. I was so proud of myself and liked the bike so much that I kept it for an extra week... you know to make sure it rode safe and all ;) . I ended up turning mine into a fixie after developing a fondness for them a few years back, and I loved building mine even more than I did hers.
Nishiki.png