Another Sanctuary 7

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here. I recently got a Typhoon frame which is what led me to this site, but in the past I played around with a Sanctuary 7. I wasn't sure if it would fit in here but I see a couple other builds using one so figured I'd post up some info on mine.

The background is, I bought it instead of building up an old Typhoon frame with more modern parts. When I looked at prices I was shocked how cheaply I could get a Chinese "Schwinn" so I rolled the dice just to see how bad it could be. Got it from Amazon for right at $200 delivered (this was a few years ago)

Here's what showed up. As I recall, the bikes we unpacked in the shop back in the '80s weren't packed with as much protective stuff on them.
IMG_0747.JPG

I figured I'd basically rebuild the whole thing while it was already sort of apart. Cracked open the headset and found this.
IMG_0750.JPG

That was par for the course on all the bearings. The bottom bracket had a little more "grease", or is that petroleum jelly, but the black finish was everywhere and the bearings just wore it away to get a good surface. Nice. I packed it with grease but left the finish. It is what is. I had visions of replacing it with a 3 piece crank anyway.
IMG_0791.JPG

One of my pet peeves are cable housings that are too long. This bike had that on everything too.
IMG_0802.JPG

Long story short, EVERYTHING needed to be rebuilt/adjusted. I pressed on and got it together. I was pleasantly surprised with it actually, though the chances of the average bear getting it set up right was pretty slim. It would have sucked if assembled as is from the box, and it would have cost a ton to get a bike shop to rebuild the entire thing. Anyway, this is how it looked in stock form.

Typhoon_2701.JPG