Cobrafreak's board track racer project, has ended

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started this project about a month ago, so I'm playing catch up right now. I wanted to combine elements for a board track racer using this:

1314.jpg

and idoods board track racer, that I really like:

1350.jpg

Re: Cobrafreak's board track racer project

Now the story. I am a city bus driver by profession. I had an elderly passenger get on with a new bicycle. A single speed road bike. I asked him about his bike as I am a bike guy and he starts cussing about the Veterans administration and Social Security. Apparently he was in Nam and an officer flying attack helicopters. He got 3 purple hearts and a silver star for combat valor back in the late 60's. The Veterans administration has not paid him a dime due to some 35 year paperwork processing error. He FINALLY has his back check coming, retro-actively. 35 years of back pension at around $2500.00 a month = over 1 million dollars. The social security department found out about this and cut his SS pension a month before his gold strike, so he basically has to sell his new bike to a bike shop for $50.00 so he will have enough money for food. I felt bad for him because this is no way to treat a veteran of the military that served with valor and that he was only getting $50 lousy bucks for a new bike that probably was worth $300 easy. I stepped up and said I will give him $100.00 for it and we made arrangements for me to pick it up after work. He was happy, and I was happy. I now have a bike to turn into my board track racing project.
1394.jpg