Greetings from a new member

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Everybody,
Just wanted to take a quick minute and introduce myself. My name is Joe. I'm an American living in Toronto, Canada. I make my living as a musician and a novelist. I met my Canadian wife while were both signed to Sub Pop records in the 1990s. If you told me then I'd be living in Toronto I'd say you were out of your skull. Well, there you go.

I've been lurking here for a while and thought it was time I step up and sign up. As you all know it's a pretty amazing site. very dangerous place for those aware of the finite number of hours in a day.

For years now I've been primarily into old school bmx. (I have a few good friends here from bmxsociety and the museum.) Over the last couple years I've pretty much whittled my old school collection down to pre 1980 Redlines. The newest bike I have is a 1981 GT 26" cruiser. My personal tastes are original finishes and decals whenever possible. But that's just me.

In the past few months my horizons have been broadened. I still have the 1975-1976 Fleetwing Tigercat bike I recived for my 8th or 9th birthday. I got into BMX soon after I received it. I never BMX'd the Fleetwing because my father would have torn me a new one. The bike was brand new. Anyway, I could never part with it, though I can't honestly say the bike spoke to me like my 1979 Redline MX-II did. That is until I saw a 1972 Raleigh Chopper MK-1 for sale. It was nearly complete, and pretty crusty. I had to have it. I knew I had to take it home, break it down and improve its quality of life. (I am almost done with that project, and I'll start a thread about it soon enough.)