Jackhammer

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Afternoon

I’m a complete noob to all this and completely in awe of all of you.

About 6 weeks ago I decided I wanted to get back into biking but really didn’t like the cheap MTB I bought about 7 years ago. I wanted to get a few new parts and one thing was a comfy seat (to accommodate my fat ....)

So I started looking online and loads of cruiser pics came up. I followed these and then started looking at Klunkers, frankenbikes & Rat Rods....then I disappeared down the rabbit hole

I had a garage with my old MTB and a couple of old knackered MTB that a friend donated for the kids but never got used.

My ‘budget build’ got more and more expensive as I steadily bought all the tools I didn’t have (but needed) to get the buggers broken down, and then I became obsessed!

I really love the old US frames but here in the UK they are few and far between. Any I found were too dear or had to get imported so I went for an old 80s MTB frame as a base

Long story short...I loved it!

Very grateful I got accepted to the FB group and also the forum.

I still have loads of bits and new ideas. I know I’m late on parade but looking forward to joining in and learning more!

attached are a couple of pics of the first build and the bits I have left that will be the basis for the next!
CFA46F3F-3D48-4166-8496-A14936D8909C.jpeg
59551155-E8DC-44D5-9B89-4470DAA5F3DC.jpeg
4F9511B9-D0F4-43F4-BF98-D78EF4C19FEF.jpeg
89C0777F-B528-464F-A697-002F1048F95B.jpeg
CFA46F3F-3D48-4166-8496-A14936D8909C.jpeg

Afternoon

I’m a complete noob to all this and completely in awe of all of you.

About 6 weeks ago I decided I wanted to get back into biking but really didn’t like the cheap MTB I bought about 7 years ago. I wanted to get a few new parts and one thing was a comfy seat (to accommodate my fat ....)