New (non-vintage) tandem into stretch

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I don't really know WHERE to post this but wanted to share:

"Craigslist Nightmares and Dreams" because of the nightmarish comedy of errors involved with getting this bike?

"Show Me Your: Tandem into Singles" because that's what I'm planning on doing with it?

"Build Threads" as I take this thing apart and put it back together differently?

Another forum entirely because I'm new to rat roddin' and so far have only done three "bolt together" builds? (I don't have a welder, haven't used a hacksaw or angle grinder on either previous bike, and I'm hoping to do THIS project so I can completely reverse any changes and make it back to "stock" if I meet someone who wants or needs a tandem.) Obviously, this bike isn't "vintage" except in the sense that it had a previous owner for a year or three -- I've got concert t-shirts older than some RRB members, but I suspect I have some canned goods in the back of my cupboard that may be older than this bike! ;)

I've been wanting to try something like this since I saw my first stretch cruiser, but how often do we run across used tandems on craiglist? More importantly, how often do we run across barely-ridden multi-speed tandems on craigslist for SEVENTY-FIVE BUCKS, including delivery? (Your city might be different, but this is the first one like this that I've seen in Columbus.)