Sears Spyder

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New guy to the forum. I just bought this Spyder. Can anyone tell me the approximate year and would it be made by Murray ? I plan to clean it up and perform some maintenance. Not sure if it's worth putting a lot of money into a restoration. I am new to bikes, any suggestions on what I can do to make it more "correct" if I go that route ?

Attachments

• IMG_0027 (4).JPG
    IMG_0027 (4).JPG
    490 KB · Views: 604
  • FullSizeRender (2).jpg
    FullSizeRender (2).jpg
    565.7 KB · Views: 571
The paint looks a little nicer in the photos, but it's unlikely that I would paint it. The serial number is 50247720403836 if anyone can estimate the year.

Nice bike. I love the old Spyders! The seat is not original but everything else looks to be. Based on tires I am saying mid 1970s

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Murray build Spyders for Sears. The sprocket is accurate, although usually found on 5-speeds. Approximate year is '67 based on the paint, but that's a rough guess. You can't tell from the SerNo unforunately, the best way is to find an ad. The seat isn't correct, as that's a modern replacement. Finding a good correct seat could set you back a bit.

What are your plans with it? They aren't worth a lot, but I like bringing them back just to bring them back. That one wouldn't need a lot, a slick on the back, a seat if you felt inclined, maybe replace the decals. You could tear it down and really clean up that paint to make it pop. It's only original once.

Agreed, 67 or so is my guess as well. Great find. I love the condition of this one!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk