BO15 The Bluebird of Happiness

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
20200726_172307 (1).jpg

Greetings from Hunterdon County New Jersey! This is my first Build Off. I rehab/restore bikes for women out of my home garage and organize a vintage bike ride called The Red Mill Retro Ride in Clinton NJ. I am also a curator at a local history museum. My Dad gifted me with a love of all things bicycle and the skills to get creative with them.

Although our museum remains closed to the public because of the COVID-19 situation the other curator and I have still been working. I needed to take some time off and, since there would be no traveling to visit Grandkids this year, I decided that would spend my Staycation on my entry into the 2020 Build Off.

I purchased this Dayton bike about a month ago. She spoke to me the moment I saw her. I love her lines, colors and patina. The plan is to clean her up without losing any of her story and character. I want to replace the wheelset with a 2 speed kickback set. I have two options. A modern alloy rim set with a Sturmey Archer 2S Hub or a vintage steel rim option with a Torpedo Duomatic hub. I'll probably try both then decide. I like to do a sort of Retro/Mod build combining old and new components. There are so many other ideas flying around my head but I will let time determine what I can accomplish.

This is a German Polar Bear frame with a Nexus 7 wheelset that I did last year. One of my all time favorite bikes for the build and the ride. I'm just posting it to show off a bit. I hope I'm as happy with The Bluebird of Happiness when she is done.

20190921_085123.jpg

I found the serial number. Based on that and the New Departure hub/coaster brake on the wheelset I'm calling it at 1947. That means it is officially the oldest bike I own right now.