'The Goon' - Raw Aluminium Board Tracker

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is my first build off, so here goes nothing! :shock: I've decided to rebuild my Giant Simple, some old info on it is here:
http://www.ratrodbikes.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=22634&p=236050&hilit=simple#p236050

Here it is mocked up with some ape hangers (which it never got)
simple018.jpg

And its current form at the moment
5765.jpg

The plan is to turn it into a board tracker and freak out some of the fixie guys at a bike event coming up in a few weeks :mrgreen: So strip the frame, strip the paint (for that brushed aluminium look), and some choice accesorising for a more vintage kinda vibe, and flip the bars for that proper boardtrack look.

The bike will be called 'The Goon' after Eric Powell's comic of the same name. Have got a few ideas on how to incorporate the theme into the build :wink: I figure his style and look fit well with a 20s/30s inspired board tracker

goon7_400.jpg

goon-777126.jpg

Still finishing off stripping the frame, just doing it in bits and pieces when I get home from work before it gets too late :wink:

Ditching the ugly stem for a threadless stem convertor and a modern mountain bike stem
simple025.jpg

Even though I haven't finished stripping the frame, I couldnt resist mocking it up.
simple023.jpg

simple024.jpg

Thanks Bean.

The leather saddle I bought cam in, and I stole the thick bricks off my girl's Felt Claire ladies bike. Picture the stem and seatpost in black, brown grips, and thats pretty much the final colour scheme
Simple026.jpg

This is a true to the bone board tracker build. Looking to seeing more.

Thanks 2dwags and Sensor :D