Tube bender....

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
In the shed, close to the beach, QLD, Australia
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
what do people use?
The hydraulic jack type?
The brute force type?

Been looking at a couple on eBay for around $150-$200.
Some boast 12 tonne force.
Not sure how true that is.
How much do you need?

I have no idea about these things.

If the "dies" are good enough and the rest of the setup is a bit cheap I can always modify it.
Should I just buy the bending dies and make my own?

Has anyone made their own?

Any help/comments/advice/pictures appreciated.

Thanks.

:)

I've got zero experience with these, but that's an attractive price... probably worth experimenting with. Even if it ain't perfect, it'll probably give you ideas for when/if you build your own...

I have one of these, they are designed for pipe, not tube, they tend to crush the thin walled stuff.
There is a "How To" on use them here: http://www.ratrodbikes.com/forum/in...-with-a-cheap-hydraulic-bender-updated.68228/

Luke.
Aaaah thanks heaps for that, Luke.
Very good info.

Instead of putting smaller pipe or bar inside, do you think PVC conduit would help with the kinking?
Or even copper tube?

Or would that not be enough to hold everything together...

I think I'll still get one and figure out how to use it for what I need.
Havin the "wrong" tools hasn't stopped me so far haha.

Have heard of the sand method before, but your way of putting something inside the tube makes perfect sense.

And as you say it will add extra strength (and a bit of weight).

Good stuff.

Jokes aside, I made this for bending steel bar a while back.
Does 10mm round bar no worries.

eRzjX1z.jpg

Would a similar setup, but "dragging" the smaller pulley around the bigger one (or a proper die) work?

It (the small one) would have to be grooved of course.