Virginia Creeper Trail, a review by this guy.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yoothgeye

I build stuff.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Last week I took my family on vacation to the mountains of North Carolina tucked right into the corner between Virginia and Tennessee. On the agenda was hiking, tubing, relaxing, but most exciting to me, riding the Virginia Creeper Trail.

The Virginia Creeper is a Rails to Trails, the railroad use to be called the Virginia Creeper trail for the way it creeped up and down the mountain. I am no expert on the history, but you can get a lot online. Nowadays the city of Damascus, VA is only being kept alive because of this trail. In town there are 7 outfitters that run multiple shuttles up to White Top to drop off riders and let them enjoy the easy 17 mile downhill. There are 2 more shuttle services outside of town.

Having the whole family and just 1 vehicle, we had to shuttle, but if you had someone willing to drop you off and pick you up, it would be real easy, wait till you see a van pulling a trailer full of bikes and follow them up to the drop off area, it won't take long, they were EVERYWHERE!

We went on a Tuesday, so there were a lot less people on the trail than on weekends. I was told that on weekends they even have park rangers on bikes helping people on the trail.

I rode my single speed rigid 29er, my wife her 7 speed cruiser with pedals removed for the 3 year old, my 9 year old daughter on her Giant 20" cruiser, and my 6 year old son on his 16" Dyno VFR.

If you don't have your own bike, all the shuttle services rent bikes, single speeds, tandems, tag-alongs, trailers, comfort bikes, mountain bikes, etc...