What is it?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Found this bike in pieces... trying to figure out if it is worth fixing... and would love to know what it is! There is a head badge (foil decal?) underneath all that yellow house paint but I am afraid if I strip off the paint, the decal will go with it. Any ideas? Actually, three questions:
1. What is it? Brand/Model
2. Is there a drop-in replacement for that crank rather than rebuilding it?
3. Is it worth the money/effort or should I find another candidate?
Thanks guys, I am a newbie in all this and just would love to get a working retro bike out of it. Bike-4.jpg

Attachments

• Bike-6.jpg
    Bike-6.jpg
    131.7 KB · Views: 89
  • Bike-2.jpg
    Bike-2.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 94
  • Bike-3.jpg
    Bike-3.jpg
    83.3 KB · Views: 82
  • Bike-5.jpg
    Bike-5.jpg
    330.5 KB · Views: 95
  • Bike-1.jpg
    Bike-1.jpg
    135.5 KB · Views: 101
Whether or not it's worth it is probably going to depend on the crank. There are some people on here with German bikes that may be able to help you out. It may be helpful if you can finish taking it apart, watch out for loose ball bearings. Even just a picture of the other side could be useful.
p.s. Welcome to the forums. :forum:

The other side of the crank looks like this side, except it has a seal over the bearings. Is it a German bike because it has a German coaster brake?

Try some paint thinner or turpentine on the head badge. House paint isn't so chemical resistant.

Looks like a Steyr of Austria who made millions of department store bikes for Sears and other retailers.