Bike tire sizing

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im planning to get a electra cruiser with 26x2.125 tires I want to use the origianal rims but get all white or creme tires like the fat franks what could i use? only 26x2.125 or anything else? im very new to bikes.

^what udalcustombikes said^

'559' is indeed the sizing for 26" mountainbikes and beachcruisers. That three digit number (ISO) (= in mm) should be the same for rim and tire. I'm starting to understand Sheldon Brown's writings on what will fit and what won't. And WHY...). Go read em carefully:
http://sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html

(Just beware: Not every 26" tire you'll find in a bikeshop will fit your 26" rim.)

Thank im not too experienced in bikes im just 16 yesterday i found i can put any 20' on a frame made for a 20' inch.

I think 20" wheels/tires are pretty straightforward, you're only limited by what will physically fit on your frame. With 26" tires, its much more complicated. There are 5 or 6 different "standards" for bead size, which is the inner most diameter of the tire where it sits - and seals against - the rim. The variations confused the heck out of me when I first started monkeying around with these things.