Car Speedometer for Custom Bicycle?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would like to put a nice big analog speedometer on my bike. I don't want to use a mechanical one because I have space and aesthetic issues with that (the big/ugly flexible shaft cable). They sell electrical speedos & tachs at most auto parts stores for $50. Does anyone know what I need to make it work on a bike. I realize I will have to have 12V power and somehow send an interupted signal or something?. I have no experience with the automotive gages - maybe one of you has done this before or has an idea where to start...

thanks,

Paul

I guess it could be done, but since cars usually go a lot faster than bicycles the needle isn't ever going to get out of the bottom 1/8 or so of the scale. Also most analog auto speedos I've seen don't have the greatest resolution in the 0-20 mph range.

Dennis

I was hoping I could trick the gage by sending it more signals - if there's some sort of magnetic sensor, I could mount more magnets on my hub and make the sensor think that the wheel is turning faster than it is. This way I could still use the full dial of the speedo or tach... (I was also thinking of creating a new face for the dial with numbers that go from 0 to 30 mph) Also, I'm not looking for super high accuracy - it is for a beach cruiser after all!

Thanks for the reply,

Paul

Tone Rings

My main experience is with Volvos, old and new.

They use an electronic speedo from 86 on. It has a pickup coil in the differential cover, and a "tone ring" around the spider gear housing in the differential. It spins with the ring gear.

The original design used a sheetmetal cage with square holes cut out of it, and made something like 16 pulses per revolution.