Derailer Adjustment Question

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm helping out a friend, giving his old MTB a cleanup/tuneup.

I'm a total newbie as far as adjusting derailers is concerned. This one is a low end Shimano as far as I can determine.

When I got the bike the rear derailer would not shift to the largest cassette ring. In my klutzing around it's now worse! Surprise!

Yep, I read and printed out the Sheldon Brown instructions this morning, and it looks like I have the cable length out of adjustment, so that should not be too hard.

This derailer has a nut/clamp at the derailer end of the cable. And, yes I changed it some.

My question is: how do you set the initial cable length, so that you can fine adjust with the barrell adjusters at the derailer and the shifter?

If the Sheldon Brown discussion tells how to do this, I'm missing it.

Anyway, thanks a ton for any expert advice!

Undo the cable so the derailer rest in the outboard position. Then fasten the cable so it is tight.

what is "outboard position" - without any pull on the cable?

should I have the shifter index in any particular gear?

sorry to be so dense, and THANKS!

Have the gear indicator(shifter) in the highest gear (7,8,9). The derailer should be in the outboard(as far out towards the dropouts) position when the cable is disconnected.