fork steer tubes

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
I'm killing myself over this basically because I can't waste money on buying wrong parts and it's something new to me that I've never done before....I have a wanted ad for a 24" fork with 5 inch tube, and I can't find a replacement to specs with that. I can spend $40 on ebay and buy a fork with an extra long tube and cut it using a pipe cutter (the threads come down far enough to work), but my question is can I get away with buying a fork with a 5 1/2 inch tube or is that half inch going to screw me up? I also see headset spacers, any way I can use them with another fork I have with a steer tube over 7 inches? I've never mated a different fork to a bike before, so I'm scratching my head and not wanting to blow money... thanks!

If you buy longer ask if there is a local bike shop with the thread tool and chop the extra..the spacers look bad in my opinion...I personally like to section the tube and re weld but it can be a pain with angles and whatnot! So I'd say buy the longer if the threads come down and chopp the extra off the top....the half inch will make all the difference and have a lot of play!