Help me identify my Schwinn.

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
30   0   0
I bought this old Schwinn bike the other day for $30, I really wanted the cantilever frame for a build for my son. I.D. on left rear is OH051290 if I am reading the Schwinn numbers correct, this bike was built Aug. 1960.....correct? I know it is a hodge-podge of parts, the chain guard is Columbia Tourist III, the front wheel is much newer, I think that the forks are bent (figured that out after I purchased it ). I was thinking maybe a speedster but, it wouldn't have chrome fenders, right? Do the fenders look correct for the bike, or are they another add on? And is that even a Schwinn sprocket, it doesn't look like any that I have. I am still learning, and at 53 it is a slow curve!

01812.JPG

01910.JPG

02010.JPG

I.D. left side rear OH051290

Haha! That's my luck............just realized I posted this in the wrong area too. Sorry! Anyone else have any idea what it is???

Hook up a real sweet shot of the dropouts, and it'll be pretty easy. As it stands now, a lot of makers did Cantilever frames BITD (and now), but some ppl could probably tell from your pics who the builder was. Take this thread to "bike id and valuation", and RRB member jpromo will have identified almost immediately.

My guess? Huffy Good Vibrations. I've seen that sprocket on some Huffy bikes, and the ood Vibrations has the same basic lines and seatclamp treatment. Also, they have a pretty longish top tube, which you'll likely appreciate if you're anywhere near 6' tall.

Cool bike, regardless.

Thanks all! It looks like I have been duped! The chain wheel appears to be 70's Huffy. It was in an old clapped out building with poor lighting, but inexperience is my fault! Still probably worth the $30 that I paid.......but really frustrating!