Let's make it official

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am going to post some pics in the gallery and build section today and I've been lurking long enough to know the RR vets like a profile to go along with it so here we go:

I'm an artistically inclined network engineer with a few of eccentricities, like not owning a TV and happily driving a 15 year old truck. When my job transfered me to Cleveland I started checking CL for a beater and found a Murray cruiser of unknown model & year. Since hardly anyone actually lives in downtown Cleveland you can ride all over the place after 5 pm or just about anytime on the weekends and not worry too much about traffic. At times you'll be on a 6 lane avenue with gothic stone buildings and skyscrapers on each side, but the streets are empty. It's almost a scene out of The Omega Man. That was my first real start as a bicycle enthusiast.

Then I bought a '74 Schwinn Speedster for $50 and was going to rat rod it. In order to get some experience I decided to first rat rod my Murray beater. I planned on an ode to the 50's hot rod style that used a lot of common rat themes, but then the ideas just started flowing, and I had new ideas for the Murray, more for the Speedster, and then more for "future projects". This was my start as a rat rod enthusiast.

What drew me to this site was the incredible creativity and resourcefulness, and the camaraderie and humor of the regulars. It's been amazing at times.