My other vehicle is a locomotive: redux!

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It has been YEARS since I last posted so I thought it might be appropriate to make a quick post here to remind you all who I am.

I am a professional museum exhibit fabricator living in the San Francisco Bay Area. I joined this site 2008 after purchasing an Electra Rockabilly Boogie. Shortly after that I began a full tear down and repaint/rebuild of a 26" Schwinn Panther. My first love is for steam powered engines. By far the live steam hobby commands most of my spare time. First and foremost I am a railroad man-- the steam and iron is in my blood for sure. Because of that, these two bikes have been in my stable for the past four years. The Electra R.B. has been my daily use bike. The Schwinn has been more or less in storage with only occasional use. all the rest of my time and garage space is devoted to my railroad equipment.
IMG_2224.jpg

This locomotive has been my obsession for the past year and a half. It is a 1:8 scale model of an 8 ton 0-4-0. Because of the complexity of this project I have had zero bandwidth to take on any bicycle projects. Until now...

As much as I loved these bikes I have been lusting after a Felt MP for years. The Electra is great but if I had done more research in the first place I probably would have chosen the MP instead. I don't have the space for three bikes and my wife and I are homeowners now so money is always a factor. I have had a few false starts trying to sell the Electra R.B. to finance the purchase of an MP. Well last week was my 37th birthday and even though my wife has been telling me that a new bike was out of the question, she had a surprise up her sleeve.