Newb in FL

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I thought i'd introduce myself since I've been posting and using the great advice in this forum. Also - lots of inspiration here!

i'm an artist - i mostly sculpt now but i love Making Stuff, just about anything! if it has to be put together i'm on it lol Here is my sculpting website http://www.enchantedwhimsies.com I also do graphic design. oh, and i'm a silversmith ;) mostly jewelry but i have a feeling i'll find a way to combine that with the bikes too... (the skills not the jewelry)

So - what am i doing with a prewar skiptooth bike, ya say? I just like old bikes i guess. Don't know anything about them though lol When i was a kid me and the boys on the block would always take apart our bikes and reconfigure them. It was all banana seats & hand me down schwinns back then lol lots of fun. So, after moving to FL i thought i'd get a cruiser to tool around on. I have a trek mountain bike but no woodsy trails or mountains here :p So, looking for a bike on craigslist I started getting into the idea of an older bike. Finally I got my hands on this Elgin and figure I'll fix it up. I love the look of the bikes on this site, i guess i found my way here because i kept landing here on web searches. So, hopefully you all won't mind my lack of know-how or terminology ...i learn quickly :)

i am keeping it simple with this bike, just to see if i can follow through and actually finish with a nice looking and road worthy bike in the end. I dig art cars though so I think if this works out i may get another bike and do something kinda wild/conceptual (husband thinks otherwise but, we'll see!) actually i have a goofy idea brewing for this Elgin, you boys are gonna hate it lol it's subtle but definitely gonna be a girlybike :p