Newbie to bycicle restoration

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

I live in Virginia and I just picked for $50 an old Huffy Eldorado. I don't see an option to attach photos here but it's pretty old and definitely rusty.. The chain was hard as a rock and broke in half.

Can someone recommend a place to find "how-to" information on restoring old bikes and a place to find old Huffy Eldorado bike parts? It's not missing a whole lot, but I know it needs the light.

I have never done anything like this before and I've never worked on a bike before. I don't even have tools! But I plan to either borrow some or buy what I need to see if I can do this and make a hobby out of it. Any help would be really appreciated. My private email is [email protected]

thank you,
Dan

Here is my bike

197331_1895653515190_1357140007_2114086_3493766_n.jpg

WELCOME ! ,check out our" how to" tread should help you out,looks like you have a good project there !

Do you know a place where I can find parts? I need to find the light fixture to this bike and how to install it. The wiring appear to be still there.

Thank you. I am excited and getting ready to go to Lowes to get some steel wool and some primer. I'd love to know what year this bike is.

Hi Dan and welcome from California! RatRodBikes is the right place for info and help, you will like it here!

Just a guess on the age of your bike . . . mid 1960s. you might want to buy a can of "P.B. Blaster" or WD-40 and give all the nuts and bolts a shot, let it set over night, and then start the disassembly. "Gunk Engine Brite" works well for cleaning bearings and parts . . . spray them and let them set, then rinse with water. Works better and safer than gasoline.