Shifter swap help

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

Joined
Sep 28, 2022
Messages
15
Reaction score
12
Location
socal
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Guys
I’m wondering how I go from a nexus 3 speed grip shifter to a thumb shifter for my Spitfire?
I want it to look a little more original and I my opinion clean than the grip shifter, I also wouldn’t mind adapting it like those older lever shifters by the handle bar stem.
Thanks

Vince
 

Attachments

  • 73B90E6B-6E5C-4636-9AEE-18FC972587A7.jpeg
    73B90E6B-6E5C-4636-9AEE-18FC972587A7.jpeg
    3 MB · Views: 0
  • 70193E33-D02B-44B8-95A2-EAE07D91DC21.jpeg
    70193E33-D02B-44B8-95A2-EAE07D91DC21.jpeg
    1.3 MB · Views: 0
  • 8F26786F-36E5-467A-A678-55A179A4B6A5.jpeg
    8F26786F-36E5-467A-A678-55A179A4B6A5.jpeg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0

MattiThundrrr

Rattus All Terrainus
Joined
Jul 16, 2019
Messages
9,220
Reaction score
17,309
Location
another time and place
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Creative inspiration, maybe technical help too:
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2022
Messages
15
Reaction score
12
Location
socal
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was wondering more of what is compatible with the nexus 3, like any of the Sturmey Archer. This is my first swap so I’m a bit green lol
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
2,738
Reaction score
6,640
Location
Colorado
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll need to search out something with compatible indexing, which is the length of cable moved by each click of the shifter. Normally Shimano works with Shimano, but IGH (internally geared hub) shifters may not work with derailleur shifters. Maybe some of the Nexus users can chime in.
 

Couch tater

RRB Supporter
Pro Member
Joined
May 18, 2020
Messages
832
Reaction score
2,957
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm going to be using a Nexus hub with a vintage Shimano twist shifter soon. My understanding from Google searching is they will work, the only caveat being the cable will be slightly slack in 1st gear. I'm going to use vintage motorcycle grips which measure 7/8" and 1"; the 1" to fit over the shifters barrel.
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
Most non-Sturmey vintage 3 speed shifters will work fine with the Nexus 3 hubs. They will just be reverse from the numbers on the shifter. The spacing between the gears has to be equal to work with a Nexus. That is why old Sturmey shifters won't work with Nexus.

Friction shifters like what you usually find on old 10 speeds can work, but you'll end up damaging the hub since you'll have to just guess by feel if you are all the way in each gear.

I've used many vintage shifters with Nexus hubs on my builds. Here is the Bendix shifter I used on Uncle Stretch. You can see that the indicator shows 3rd, but in this position it is actually in 1st.

1664472199210.jpeg
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2022
Messages
15
Reaction score
12
Location
socal
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I want to use a sturmey archer SLS30 T3T I have read that it works. Any experience with this one?
BTW you bike looks awesome!
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
I want to use a sturmey archer SLS30 T3T I have read that it works. Any experience with this one?
BTW you bike looks awesome!

Thanks. I doubt that any Sturmey shifter will work. As far as I know all Sturmey 3 speeds (even modern ones) do not have equal spacing between gears like Shimano Nexus hubs do. You can even see this on the shifters themselves. Notice how only a short pull of cable gets you from 1st to 2nd, but it takes a much longer pull of cable to get from 2nd to 3rd. Shimano hubs will need a shifter that provides the same amount of cable pull for each gear change.

STURMEY

1664479270621.png




SHIMANO
1664479422775.png
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
Does the Shimano one have a model number, last one I purchased was incorrect (my fault)

I don't know. It's just a google image search.
I just know that any non-sturmey shifter that I have tried with a Nexus3 hub has worked.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2019
Messages
2,738
Reaction score
6,640
Location
Colorado
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know. It's just a google image search.
I just know that any non-sturmey shifter that I have tried with a Nexus3 hub has worked.
I'd wager that Suntour indexed shifters would not work with Shimano either. but that's getting into 7-speed territory. Suntour's indexing is different from Shimano, as was some SRAM in the early days of 9-speed drivetrainsd.
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
4,253
Reaction score
6,081
Location
Wisconsin
Rating - 100%
11   0   0
Does the Shimano one have a model number, last one I purchased was incorrect (my fault)
just thought I'd drop a ebay link for a shifter - they are asking $250!
FWIW I would just look for a old 3 speed bike with shimano 333 hub - should be easy to find...
This looks interesting
Screenshot_20220929-173304_DuckDuckGo.jpg

I dont know the shifter or the seller, but looks cool.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/203784419887?epid=1340130745&hash=item2f727f7a2f:g:xDAAAOSwHoVh2EaK&amdata=enc:AQAHAAAA0N6pgC67zqgxk14/YubxI0a3phcvZnOtbynrPe/2YyZRVXgx6zaqH06kvC42XkPJ1/SSMzkaTvFTDDRaV81dUrGYx9jiddiLShhwFsy1XT3efzZdInL9VCkNy3WoLw1DLSwbgtOJgOQMAqB3BsMtBcSH84bZj1veG83pLV9DUV2jTJ4WwQx/kQi1XQqfxw3T26Yt/oLgsHRIa5Cf1Qlg6pkgQ9W5BhKA+7kIikBDq130ucMKOx8ifvDx+D1/MtHyehYnBALbyue5m1mxS8nLapw=|tkp:BFBMpu_KtfFg
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
I'd wager that Suntour indexed shifters would not work with Shimano either. but that's getting into 7-speed territory. Suntour's indexing is different from Shimano, as was some SRAM in the early days of 9-speed drivetrainsd.

Yeah, I was referencing 3 speed shifters and hubs only.
However, I did use friction 5 speed muscle bike shifter with a Nexus 7 hub on Flexy back in BO7. It had speed ranges of Mach - Warp - Ludicrous - 11. :D But this was not indexed, so shifting was always a "feel" thing. Never had any problems. I also had to cut away the higher end detent stop to give the shifter more travel.

1664490592108.png
1664490673644.png
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
9,745
Reaction score
12,197
Location
Zambales, Philippines
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
I did the same thing as Kingfish, used an older shimano shifter that reversed the pattern but worked well. The old twist grips are the same way as long as they are shimano.

I would look for an old crappy 3 speed bike on craigslist. Most had shimano hubs. They are a usually priced just to get rid of them. 26 x 1 3/8ths wheels and cheap diamond frame. But you'll get all the 3 speed parts you'll need.

Some bike shops have a bin with 3 speed parts that haven't moved in years. That's where I got my shifter for 7 bucks, same as the $250 shifter.
 

kingfish254

CHECK OUT MY SALE THREAD FOR COOL STUFF!
Pro Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2009
Messages
31,733
Reaction score
39,166
Location
Historic Savannah
Rating - 100%
130   0   0
So in theory this one should work?
View attachment 211115

Correct. Personally, I've never tried one of the old thumb shifters with modern Nexus hubs, but it should be the same principal and cable pull as the old stick shifters from that era, so it should work.
 

Latest posts

Top