Why am I here?

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yoothgeye

I build stuff.
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
My name is Justin Fender and I live in North Carolina. I'm a youth pastor, a husband, and a daddy of 3 at 33 years old. I've got a multitude of hobbies, and biking has always been one of them. For the past couple years I've been wanting to find another moped like I had when I was 16, but being that this state allows drivers with suspended license due to DUI to still drive mopeds and scooters on the road (a loop-hole I don't appreciate) the prices are too high, and if I did get one I'd blend too much. I kinda like to stand out.

I decided to build a gas engine bicycle, so I bought a kit from eBay, but I didn't have a bike yet. It couldn't be just any bike, I wanted something different. So a friend from NJ sent me a 1950 Columbia frame and a set of wheels (old Bendix hub laced into an aluminum rim, and a later model front aluminum wheel).

I had in mind that I wanted a kind of rat rod styled bike, but I didn't know about this forum until yesterday when I had already painted the bike, so I didn't realize so many others were building rat bikes. Now that I've been looking though photos here, I'm going to have to start building a fleet. haha

I'll post photos in the build forum, the bike it currently on pedals only, but will get the engine soon, hope I don't get banned here for using an engine. :lol:

Welcome ! I just wanted to commend you on being a youth Pastor, me & my wife did it for two years and although we loved doing it , it just became too much, with our own kids needing us so much , but my wife is still helping out as much as possible, I am keeping busy with the worship team playing the drums. Good luck with your build and God Bless!!!

Gold Street Customs said: