24" Tires

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings All!

I need a little bit of help here, could someone point me in the right direction please... as I am still kinda new to the hobby. I've got a couple of 24" boys bikes that I'm getting ready to "restore" for the kids use. Could you all rattle off different tire manufacturers? Kenda, Bontrager, Dura, etc. What I'm looking for, preferably, is something larger than the 24" x 2.125. I don't think want [or could use] a 3" tire though...?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,
Clark

Re: 24" Tires... now with follow up question 10/23

Could someone please confirm something for me...? I was told that a Schwinn S-2 rim would accept any "normal" (non Schwinn specific) bicycle tire whereas the S-5 and S-7 rims would not (needing Schwinn specific)...

I hate being a newb... and a pain. Thanks for the help.

Clark

Re: 24" Tires... now with follow up question 10/23

Sleeper Sedan said:
Could someone please confirm something for me...? I was told that a Schwinn S-2 rim would accept any "normal" (non Schwinn specific) bicycle tire whereas the S-5 and S-7 rims would not (needing Schwinn specific)...

I hate being a newb... and a pain. Thanks for the help.

Clark

Correct, s-2's take standard tires, the rest are schwinn specific

The Fat Tire may fit the frame...but the chain may skim the tire.

Been there done that.I got chain oil on my sidewalls and dont care.(its only chain flex)

I can measure it with a feeler guage. (heh)

Thanks MagicRat for the insight.