Bendix hub servicing

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am in the process of restoring a 1979 Schwinn Spitfire, and today I undertook the task of cleaning up the rear wheel. I want to get inside the Bendix hub, clean it up, regrease it (with my buddy Phil Wood), and put it back together. I've never done this before and I need to know if there is anything to be aware of before I dive into this. Any springs gonna pop out and hit me in the face? Stuff like that.

Here is the hub in question.

p4pb7555228.jpg

That would be the 2-speed kickback hub. Definitely a bit more difficult than a standard Bendix but it is not impossible. No springs will pop out at you but there are about 10 loose bearings between the low drive screw and its bearing race but they likely won't go far considering they're probably aged in grease.

Hardest thing the first time is getting the lock nut off on the drive side of the hub. I found that clamping the axle in a vise, angling a regular screwdriver flatways and rotating works real well. The red band brake system is a ripoff of the new departure brake system of discs so clean those off and add a dab of oil on each one when you put it back together, every other one different. Degrease and regrease everything real thoroughly, check for any obvious signs of wear. Reassemble.

It may take a few tries to get the final assembly step right because every hub goes together a little differently. Here's a diagram for reference.

bendixredband.jpg

Pretty sure the self proclaimed mechanic that I bought this bike from lost the thing you need the "special" tool for.

And I can't get the non-drive assembly apart from the axle. The lock nut won't come off. The discs are still on the axle in this assembly.