Chopper for son's 13th

Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum

Help Support Rat Rod Bikes Bicycle Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Natrona Heights, PA- 20 Miles NE of Pittsburgh
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I hope no one minds that I post this here. I thought you may like it.

You here of people looking for their childhood bike, well I wanted to make the one I never had. I always wanted an old school chopper when I was a kid and never was able to get or make one. I decided I would do one now and give it to my son for his 13th birthday.

It is my first attempt at doing anything like this and after a lot of planning I am very pleased how it turned out. It is almost complete, but two things I will change are the bars and grips. I had ordered bars for it and found out too late they were discontinued. I have ordered some others but they won't be here in time, so I borrowed the ones off on of my 2007 Krates for now. The other thing is I got him a set of the grips with skulls on the end. They will go on with the new bars. He may want to add some more like pin stripes or decals, but I will leave that up to him once he gets it.

This all started with an old mountain bike I found. It had a very different fork and I decided to build a bike around that. It was a suspension fork, but I took it apart, cut the lower tubes as short as I could and bolted it up solid. I then welded it together plus added the bottom part of a set I cut off a 27" road bike. The top part where it goes in the head set is exactly how they were on the mountain bike. It was a Magna, and I wish I could find some more like it.

The frame is a huffy 24" mountain bike. I didn't change it at all other then removing the brake mounts and cable guides. I had planned on using a different frame, but I thought it would flip to easy so I tried tis on and it works great.